May 15, 2014

More meds and a lot of doctors

As somebody who desperately hopes to be a physician one day, I am pretty bad at being a patient.

I don't get things checked out unless it's been bothering me for a long time (see: my shoulder), and I don't take my medication as directed (I forget to!). I am a noncompliant patient; shame on me.

-

Now that a full 24 hours has passed between now and when the medical school acceptances rolled out, I have a bit less anxiety about knowing who got in and who didn't. I mean, sure, I am insanely jealous that hey did and I didn't even get a single interview, but at the same time I'm happy for them. For most of them anyway--the ones who have worked hard and deserved it.

Now that I've had time to reflect a little why I feel this way. I think I've mostly pinpointed it to feeling inferior to my peers. We all started out the exact same. Suddenly they are med students, while I am still kicking around in undergrad. I feel like a small child next to these legends, because let's face it, the people who are in medical school are pretty much demigods in the eyes of BHSc students.

I am optimistic though, because I know one day I'll join their ranks. It might be next year, it might be the year after that, or after that. I can wait, because it's what I want to do. In the meantime, I can be the best me there is. I'm so much more than just a student, than just a med hopeful.

Next year is just not going to be the same without these people. Most of them were my friends, or have touched my life one way or another. Some people I wish I had gotten to know better. I'll miss them. And to think, during the last days of school I was too stressed to realize that I might never see some of them ever again. It's a sobering thought.